Cristina Monet: Cristina

Format: LP

Label: ZE

Country: US

Year: 1980

Price paid: $5

Purchased at: The Record Archive, Rochester NY

 

When I first picked this LP up from the bargain bin I was amused by the cover, but not overly impressed. When I saw it was on the Ze label I quickly held it close to my chest. It’s not so much about the ‘music’ in this case; this one’s dripping with history… and valued in the $20-30 range.

Ze is the seminal New York ‘No Wave’ label that gave Lydia Lunch her big break. Cristina has the distinction of being the FIRST artist to release material on Ze.

Cristina herself was a Harvard dropout who met Ze Record’s founder Michael Zilkha while working for the Village Voice. She put out a few low-key LPs and disappeared from the scene. And that’s about it. Oh, there’s more if you’re into minutia:

Everything you could possibly ever want to know about ‘Christina’, the album

Cristina’s backside…

Leave a comment