Swing Out Sister: Twilight World

swingoutsister_twilight

Format: 12″

Label: Mercury/Polygram

Country: US

Year: 1987

Price paid: $2.40

Purchased at: The Record Archive, Rochester NY

 

Don’t be fooled by love songs and lonely hearts

You’re living in a twilight world

Maybe I’m getting soft in my old age. Back in the day I saw Swing Out Sister as little more than a coma-inducing snoozefest. Although that opinion hasn’t changed considerably, I find myself somewhat more receptive to their calming sound and Corinne Drewery’s lush vocals.

I’d never heard of the ‘Sophisti-pop’ sub-genre before researching this single, but the term seems very apt. Other artists falling under this style include Shade, Scritti Politti, and Simply Red. I hear shades of the New Romantics in their sound as well.

‘Twilight World’ is the third single from SOS’s debut album ‘ It’s Better to Travel.’ It reached #32 on the UK singles chart in 1987 and all the way to #7 on the US Billboard Adult Contemporary the following year.

The sleeve art is considerably different than the domestic (UK) version. Although simpler in layout and most probably hastily thrown together with it’s near-promo level of design aesthetic, this US version has a bold timeless look that fits the song perfectly. If done right there’s nothing wrong with a few band shots and a tasteful font in my book…

swingoutsister_twilight2

 

5 thoughts on “Swing Out Sister: Twilight World

  1. Maybe it’s because I’m older … this was a late eighties favorite. I enjoyed most of the loungedancepop stuff from the era. I was in the midst of my second DJ career, and I loved how easily one could move between Kraftwerk, Level 42, The Blow Monkeys, Pet Shop Boys, Depeche Mode, The Psychedelic Furs, Black, New Order, and, yes, Swing Out Sister.

    • Thanks for the comment. I tend to gravitate towards dynamic late-80’s Britpop (Transvsion Vamp, Westworld) and more electronic-ish New Wave. Swing Out Sister reminds me of old VH1, but I have great fondness for ‘Breakout’ and recently discovered their wonderful cover of ‘Am I the Same Girl?’

  2. Maybe it’s because I’m older … this was a late eighties favorite. I enjoyed most of the loungedancepop stuff from the era. I was in the midst of my second DJ career, and I loved how easily one could move between Kraftwerk, Level 42, The Blow Monkeys, Pet Shop Boys, Depeche Mode, The Psychedelic Furs, Black, New Order, and, yes, Swing Out Sister.

Leave a Reply

