Artist: Ramones: Subterranean Jungle

ramones_jungle

Format: LP
Label: Sire
Country: US
Year: 1983
Price paid: $15
Purchased at: The Vinyl Underground, Kent OH

 

“I am a teenage schizoid
The one your parents despise
Psycho Therapy
Now I got glowing eyes”

‘Subterranean Jungle’ was produced by Ritchie Cordell and Glen Kolotkin- who had previously worked with Joan Jett on 1981’s ‘I Love Rock ‘n’ Roll’ LP- and it shows. They abandon much of what was ‘Ramones’ about the Ramones in favor of a more stereotypical rock sound, complete with rather intricate (and very un-punk) guitar work. The songs are still brief, most not clocking in over 2:30, but they just seem longer. I’m no Ramones historian, but even I can see a band struggling to come to terms with the 80s music scene.

Anachronisms or no, they’re still the Ramones! ‘Psycho Therapy’ is the standout on this album, or I should say it stays truest to the ‘Ramones’ template. The three covers ‘Time Has Come Today’, ‘Little Bit o’ Soul’, and ‘I Need Your Love’ are all excellent renditions.

‘Subterannean Jungle’ is the band’s seventh studio album. Marky Ramone was asked to leave the band during production. He didn’t return until 1987; he is the only surviving member of their longest-running lineup.

I’m rather fond of the album art. The composition does a fair job of evoking a riotous urban jungle, while the funky 80s palette fits with the band’s cartoony image. I especially like the flat, out-of-scale photo of poor Marky Ramone pasted-in as an afterthought on the far left.

‘Every Time I Eat Vegetable it Makes Me Think of You’ makes me giggle:

ramones_jungle2

Leave a Reply

